The Icon

It sits on my desktop on a rainbow of colour
Reminding how my life is now fuller

It is nothing more than a tiny little square
But behind the bland facia, my future lies there

For within those 4 small inch long walls
Lies my hopes and dreams, huge successes, great falls.

The icon is entitled ‘New Novelist’
And is smeared with the fingerprints of very small fists

Oh tiny square!, How you’ve changed my life
You’ve rescued me from heartache and released me from strife

Of course you have to compete with two tiny rivals
And in the end you all depend on me for your survival

But for those three days when my mum schedule is clear
You’ll have my full attention, I promise you dear

Because I have you as mine forever and ever
And I vow,about you, I will never say never.

Leave a Reply

